Home Leong San See Temple, Singapore


World / Asia / Singapore / Chinese Temples

     
   



Leong San See Temple is a Taoist temple on Race Course Road in Singapore's Little India. Also written as Long Shan Si, the name means "Dragon Mountain Temple". It is derived from the original Long Shan Si temple from An Ping District of Fujian Province in China.



Leong San See Temple (10 July 2006)
© Timothy Tye



The temple was set up by Abbot Chuan Wu who came from China in 1913, bringing with him a statue of Kuan Yin, the goddess of mercy, and an urn. Abbot Chuan Wu bought a plot of land on Race Course Road, and established a lodge where he took care of the sick. From a mere cluster of sheds, a temple was soon set up in 1917. Abbot Chuan Wu's merciful act attracted the attention of local philanthropist, the tycoon Tan Boon Liat, who donated funds to the temple. This allowed for a new temple to be built in 1926, housing a statue of Confucious. An altar was set up for Kuan Yin, and other statues were added.

Renovations to the temple was done in 1930, 1962 and 1970. In the main prayer hall are statues of Sakyamuni Buddha, Kuan Yin and other Bodhisattvas. Also found are statues of the Sword Brothers of the Three Kingdoms as well as statues of Confucious and Cheng Huang.



Leong San See Temple (10 July 2006)
© Timothy Tye


The temple was instrumental, under its abbot, the Venerable Zhuan Feng, in founding the Leong San School. It was set up within the temple grounds itself, and catered to the children in the immediate community. It became so popular that the school was soon faced with overcrowding.

Under the leadership of Abbot Sek Kong Hiap, Leong San See Temple decided to use an adjacent plot of land, which it had originally earmarked for the building of another temple - the Mee Toh Temple - to be used for the expansion of the school instead. That was how Mee Toh School was set up. It was managed by Leong San See Temple until 1957, when it was absorbed into the government stream. Nevertheless it remains closely linked to the temple, with a side gate linking the two together.

Contact


Leong San See Temple
371 Race Course Road, Singapore 218641
Tel: (+65) 6298 9371
Opening Hours: 6.00 am - 6.00pm

Getting there


You may visit this place as part of the Little India Walking Tour. To come here direct, the nearest MRT station is the Farrer Park MRT Station (NE8) .



Leong San See Temple (10 July 2006)
© Timothy Tye







Inside Leong San See Temple (10 July 2006)
© Timothy Tye